My Mommy

Today, January 18th, marks the 8th anniversary of my Mom’s death. Not a single day goes by that she is not in my thoughts. Some days are better than others.  My Mom and I had a great relationship.  Yeah, she did drive me crazy at times but we loved each other fiercely.  It kills me that she never got to meet my daughters or that my daughters never experienced her love.  She met my husband only once while we were dating.  My Mom was an amazing cook.  I have reconnected with high school friends via Facebook and almost all of them commented about my Mom’s cooking.  

Ever since I became a mother myself, I see my Mom with new eyes.  I appreciate all that she did for me.  I cry when I think of what my life would be like with her here.  

I don’t have anything special planned today.  I prefer to think of all our happy memories and not focus on what happened 8 years ago. However, I wanted to honor her in some way.  Mommy, I love you so much.  Thank you for being such a great Mom.

4 thoughts on “My Mommy

Leave a comment