Life

Life sometimes doesn’t happen like we plan it, doesn’t it?  The past few days have been a bit challenging.  I had an issue with my children; they couldn’t go to school and I had to spend a lot of time and energy to get them better.  We are all fine and healthy now, thank you. 

Today was the first day since Thursday that I was able to work out.  Yes, it’s Sunday and it was only two days but nevertheless, that was not on my plan.  I wanted to go to the gym on Friday to do cardio and then The Bar on Saturday.  But that didn’t happen.  I could have done a video Friday or yesterday but I was just not in the mood and had no desire to do a video, not even Tracy Anderson’s.  I figured I could work out at The Bar Method on Sunday.

When I woke up this morning and looked out the window, I got a pit in my stomach.  There was snow, snow, snow.  I was signed  up to take a 9:30 class and I let my husband sleep in until 8:40.  (Side note: my youngest woke me up at 6 am.  Grrr).   Anyway, he said the roads would be bad but that I could “try.”  I am a born and raised NYC chick and I never owned a car until 4 1/2 years ago when we moved to the burbs.  And, I could not help but think of my last recent experience with driving in the snow just to make it to a Bar class.  

I told myself the roads were probably not that bad and I got dressed in my Lululemon outfit.  

Turns out I was wrong.  Way wrong!  The roads were not plowed.  There was only an inch or two of snow, but that made everything all slushy.  At one point, I was slipping and sliding on the road!!!  I thought to myself- What if I die on the same day my Mom died?  It was a gruesome thought.  

I made it to the class safe and sound.  However, I forgot to take any meds before I left the house and ended up having 2 coughing fits during the class.  Yes, I am still sick and not feeling so great.  

The roads were better on the drive back home.  Thank God.

I should note that I have lost 1/2  inch on each thigh ever since I began working out at The Bar.  I have taken 19 classes since November 19, 2008.  Not bad, huh?  I have not taken any other measurements.  I keep on telling myself I should take pictures, which reminds me of a great post one of my favorite bloggers wrote here about taking photos.  I have also shed weight and just feel thinner, more toned and better in general.  Those are the reasons why I drove to the class, yet again, in the snow.

Since the girls don’t have school tomorrow due to a holiday and I have a conflict on Tuesday morning, it looks like I won’t be back at The Bar until Wednesday.  However, I plan on going to the gym on Monday and maybe on Tuesday if I can swing it.  As much as I love The Bar, I do miss the gym too.  I want to do more cardio.  I was never a huge fan of the treadmill, but for whatever reason, that is what I have felt like doing recently while I am there.  We’ll see what mood I am in tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Life

  1. Hi Judie!

    I’m glad that you made it home ok and I trust that by the time you read this things are going much better. 🙂

    Have you taken your pics yet? Do it now cuz you’ll be amazed at the difference you’ll see if you take them at 6 or 8 week intervals. Rock On! 🙂

  2. Hanging my head in shame…No, I have not taken my pictures yet. I have to ask my husband to take them and since he gets home late during the week, I will have to ask him over the weekend. I just don’t know what to wear 🙂 I was also thinking of submitting my photos to Self magazine to see if they would use me as a reader model!!!!

Leave a comment