Signs Of An Addiction

I want to preface this post by saying I mean no harm or disrespect.

If you have been following my blog (and to my readers, I say THANK YOU!!!), then you may be aware that I am a huge fan of The Bar Method.  I love the classes, the teachers, the results.

This morning, though, as I was driving through a snow storm on the highway in order to make it to my 9:30 class, I thought- is The Bar Method worth dying for?  What if I got into a car accident?   I was driving like 5 miles per hour and yet I was pissed I couldn’t go faster because I didn’t want to be late for the class.  I hate being late.  I need to be early.  (For everything, but that’s another story).

I made it to class, safe and sound and best of all, early!  The class was exceptional.  It was taught by Jen, one of the owners.  The class was unusually small, since most people in their right minds probably stayed home, curled up in bed, reading US magazine.

When I got home, I had to google “signs of an addiction”.  I found these symptoms on the Mayo Clinic site.  You will find them below, with my comments immediately following:

  • Feeling that you need the drug regularly and, in some cases, many times a day  (Umm, yes)
  • Making certain that you maintain a supply of the drug (Check. I have classes lined up for the next month and a half)
  • Failing repeatedly in your attempts to stop using the drug (I did try..I mean, I told myself no more classes!  Is it my fault my husband gave me two more months as a Christmas present???)
  • Doing things to obtain the drug that you normally wouldn’t do, such as stealing (Well, I typically do not drive in a snow storm so I guess the answer is yes. Oh and I once almost snuck into an earlier class even though it was full but I didn’t do it at the last minute)
  • Feeling that you need the drug to deal with your problems (So freaking true!  I am a mess if I don’t go to The Bar!  Ask my husband  and children)
  • Driving or doing other activities that place you and others at risk of physical harm when you’re under the influence of the drug (OMG!  Yes!!!!!  You see what I’m talking about????).

What do I do now?!?!?!  I need help.

5 thoughts on “Signs Of An Addiction

  1. Funny stuff. I like you already. Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m gonna add you to my blog list. 🙂

  2. LOL well I can totally understand because I’m getting ready to kick the hubby out of the living room so I can do my Bar DVD. You were the puuuusher!!!! Just so ya know 😉

  3. Pingback: Life « Judiesjuice’s Blog

Leave a comment