You Can Heal Your Life

I have wanted to see the movie “You Can Heal Your Life” by Louise Hay for about a year now.  At least that is how long it seems. When the movie first came out, a friend was given a copy and she promised to let me borrow it.  And then she missplaced it.  

As I was trying to figure out what to get my father for Christmas, I remembered that I had wanted to see this movie.  My dad is also into positive thinking and I felt he would enjoy the movie, so I got him a copy as a Christmas present.  Turned out that he already had a copy.  So, he let me keep it 🙂  I love it when things work out!

This morning, I had a rough time and I opted to skip my workout and stay home.  Plus it’s snowing yet again and I didn’t feel like driving in the snow.  Truth be told, I was feeling awfully bad about my behavior and basically felt like crap.  I started straightening up my living room and was cleaning up all my kids movies when I spotted this dvd.  I put everything down and immediately put it on.

The movie is 90 minutes long.  It’s about Louise Hay’s life and how she came to publish her book on healing yourself by changing your thoughts. Louise Hay speaks and they also feature other well known people, such as Doreen Virtue and Wayne Dyer.  Some parts made me laugh, like when they show Louise Hay pruning her roses…..and she is wearing this silk top.  Or when someone says “My dad is no Wayne Dyer”  That made me laugh out loud!!!  

But nevertheless, this is one powerful movie. It was exactly what I needed to see and hear this morning.  I really liked the part towards the end when they talk about taking ACTION.  I feel like some people, especially since The Secret was on Oprah and all over the place, misinterpret the Law of Attraction.  Some people believe all you have to do is think positive thoughts and your wishes will come true.  I believe that can happen some times but most of us are not that enlightened to have that experience.  The speakers in the movie stress the importance of taking action by listening/following your gut, intuition or whatever signs that may come your way, in order to make your dreams become reality.

I am probably not explaining what the movie is all about very well. But it did give me an increased sense of hope.  And the world certainly needs as many people feeling positive and hopeful these days!

5 thoughts on “You Can Heal Your Life

  1. I like the idea of positive thinking but agree it takes more than just thoughts to make good things happen. I think for people who are very negative, switching to positivie thinking probably does bring a heap of rewards. Who wants to promote someone who brings the company down, right? But you’re right, it’s taking action on those positive thoughts that reallly make things happen.

  2. I think after the movie “The Secret” came out, a lot of people began to believe all they had to do was think positive thoughts and miracles would happen. I am sure that happens some of the time but other times, action needs to occur. Positive thinking and feeling good definitely helps 🙂

  3. There’s always been something about The Secret that’s bothered me. I’ve always felt that Louise Hay had a more holistic approach to life. Affirmations are important, but so is doing the inner work. I’m currently working my way through You Can Heal Your Life, again, to figure out why I’m suddenly stuck in regards to my career and prosperity.

  4. Joe, thank you for coming to my blog! Well, there are a few ways to go about releasing your block when it comes to career and prosperity. What are you afraid of? Do you really, really want what you are asking or do you feel like you “should” want those things instead of something else? I think the book gives some suggestions on how to release blocks, basically by writing the affirmations over and over on one side of a sheet and then you write down whatever fears or thoughts that come up on the other side. Don’t be afraid to acknowledge your fears. I have found what I finally admit to something, it sets me free. Have fun on your journey 🙂

  5. I’d agree with Joe too, that inner work is the aspect of healing that the Secret and other authors of abundance-thinking etc miss.

    In fact, I’d go as far as saying its the only way we will truly transform our lives in a real and permanent way. Its not the easiest path, but facing and embracing our wounded ‘aspects’, and releasing trapped pain and limiting or hurtful judgments about ourselves certainly brings the wholistic results we yearn for.

Leave a comment