Do You Listen To Your Body?

suntree

When I woke up yesterday, I wanted to move my body. I needed to exercise. But I didn’t feel like taking a yoga class or going to the gym. I also didn’t want to stay home and not do anything. I sat down and thought about what I wanted to do. I decided to take a walk around my neighborhood. I threw on my sneakers and my hand weights (I did want to get my heart pumping). It felt great to be outside. I loved looking at the blooming trees, tulips and flowers. (Side note: I didn’t even realize it was Earth Day until after I got home).

Along my walk, I thought about my intuition and how it’s how it’s so important  to take time to slow down and listen to what my gut is telling me. I recently was offered a yoga teaching opportunity. In the past, I would have immediately said yes. This time, I did immediately write back to say that I would need a few days to think about it and that I would get back to them as soon as possible. I reached out to a few friends to get their perspective. I also happened to read an article that gave me an idea. The more I thought about this situation, the more ideas came to me. After a few days I was able to respond in a way that made me feel good. It was all about slowing down and paying attention.

I’ve recently been studying a new form of energy healing called Kundalini Reiki. It’s all about your intention and then paying attention to sensations. It’s been a good practice for me.

I think we’ve all been in that position where we’re faced with a decision and our gut is screaming NO! NO! NO! yet our mind takes over and we say yes because it sounds like a good idea, we need the money or it would be good for our career. You say yes and you later realize it wasn’t the best decision.

Maybe it’s time to stop and smell the flowers. Slow down, take time to listen to your body and then act.

magnolia

 

2 thoughts on “Do You Listen To Your Body?

  1. Nice post with a great reminder that I always need to hear! This wisdom, for me, has come as I have gotten older and have begun to slow down. I think it also comes as a result of not doing so much and not “being busy” as a means to earn approval.

  2. Joy, thank you so much for your comment. Maybe it does have something to do with getting older. With age comes wisdom.

Leave a Reply

