I Don’t Know Anything

Buddha

I spent hours and hours talking about karma during my yoga teacher training program. We had everyone from a lama to a Reverend speak with us. At one class, we spoke about world views. Apparently (I’m not sure who came up with this), there are three general world views:

1. There is a God: Everything that happens is due to God’s will. If you win the lottery, it’s God’s will. If you cannot have a baby, it’s God’s will.

2. Karma: For every action, there’s a reaction. Everything that is happening in your life is due to a past action that you took in this life or a previous life.

3. There is no God or Karma. Things just are.

The more I learned about karma, the more it resonated with me. When I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes at age 11, I felt that I was being punished by God. I was such a good little girl that I felt it was must have been a result of something I did in a past life. I don’t know where that thought came from since I grew up in a Catholic family and I enjoyed going to church. I don’t remember ever speaking or learning about past lives. Anyway, karma clicked with me.

At the same time, I still studied the law of attraction and how our thoughts manifest our life. So many books and movies, ie, The Secret, talk about creating vision boards and making wishes. Hell, I prescribe to that. If things happen the way we want them to, then great! We are successful. When they don’t, according to The Secret and other LOA gurus, it’s because our thoughts and energy are not aligned with what we really want. Really, it’s all our fault. We must have hidden subconscious desires and fears. We must have limiting thoughts that are preventing us from manifesting our wish.

Is that true? Is that really true??? Are our thoughts that freaking powerful?

I don’t know what the hell to think. Two women, from the same family, in my town recently passed away. One was older, a grandmother who had not been well for years. The other woman was just 31 years old and newly pregnant. Was this their karma? God’s will? Or do things just happen? While I am not a mind reader, I have a hard time imagining that either of them wanted to die. Did the grandmother or the newly pregnant woman have hidden, subconscious thoughts that manifested into illness (something that I was taught in my Reiki training)?

In my yoga training, we studied Sanskrit with Manorama. She said that if we were lucky, we would only have about two or three Unanswerable Whys in our lives. You know what I’m talking about. Those events that happen to us in which we cannot for the life of us comprehend why they happened.

I know that no matter how many times I think about this topic, I will probably never come to the “right” answer.

6 thoughts on “I Don’t Know Anything

  1. It’s a difficult thing to wrap our minds around, Judie. I think the world view we each subscribe to comes to us from many different angles, and in the end it doesn’t matter so much which view we have, but what we do with it, what actions we take due to our “belief”. And regarding the two lovely women who passed, my spiritual work has taught me that people choose a path before coming into this realm, and perhaps the illnesses were not manifested via subconscious beliefs but were simply a pre-determined (by Self) end point here on Earth. And I agree, there is likely no “right” answer that we will find in this lifetime, anyway!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. I know my mind likes to mull things over and over and over, especially how our thoughts manifest our lives. For example, say a woman is waiting to find out if she is pregnant. She keeps positive, hopeful, makes vision boards, says affirmations, lights candles, etc etc etc… Will all those efforts affect the results of her pregnancy test? She is pregnant or not, but needs to wait to take the test. How much do her thoughts affect the test results?

  3. I really identify with these issues. I primarily study Wayne Dyer and his philosophies. They are similiar to what you described. I find that sometimes I am actually afraid of my own negative thoughts.But I have also heard that positive thoughts are much more powerful than the negative. In the end for me I feel that just having the awareness is helpful. Another component of this is to assume the feeling of the wish fullfilled, because the universe responds to our feelimgs. I just have faith and practice positive affirmaions before sleeping. Love your writing, Judie.

  4. Thank you Jane for writing. It’s a fine line, I think, between thinking that our thoughts manifest our life or is it really our thoughts affect how we view our life. We always hear about the glass being half full or half empty. Our thoughts affect how we view the glass but did our thoughts affect the glass appearing? How much are we in control, really?

    This is a minor example, but I recently entered a contest. I thought for sure I would win since my intention of winning was to better serve the children that I teach kids yoga. I felt positive that I would win; I used Reiki, I did a crystal grid….and yet I wasn’t chosen. It’s easy for me to think that it’s my fault that I didn’t win, that I didn’t maintain the right thoughts, the right energy. Or was it God’s will? Or was it karma? Was it bad luck or did it just happen, no meaning at all?

  5. Jane, since I know you are a yogi, you may be interested in this quote from the Bhavagad Gita: “karmaṇy evādhikāras te mā phaleṣu kadācana” which is translated to mean “We can control our effort, Not the results.”

    Where does that leave God, karma, prayer, making wishes and vision boards…..? Just how much control do we have, if any at all?

  6. Pingback: It’s All Energy | JudiesJuice

Leave a Reply

