Happy Birthday Mom!

mommyandme

 

Today, April 3rd, is my Mom’s birthday. This photo is one of my favorite photos I have of us together. I keep it on my dresser.

I told my daughters that for my Mom’s birthday and Mother’s Day, I would often buy my Mom yellow flowers, usually roses. I remember buying her a yellow vase one year. After she passed away, I was in the house cleaning up. Somehow I ended up breaking the vase! My brother said “she didn’t like it anyway.” I don’t know if he was kidding or if it was the truth, but it fell and broke into pieces. Like my heart.

It’s been over 12 years since she passed away. The pain has eased, it has changed, but it is still there, always, every day, every second of every day. I miss her so much. I’ve done my best to accept it. There’s nothing I can do except look at this photo and think of her. Buy her yellow roses on her birthday.

Happy Birthday Mom!

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mom!

  1. My mom loved yellow too and now, every time I put on a little bit of yellow I will be thinking of her. I am missing my mom a lot today. Thank you for writing this.

  2. Claire, thank you for sharing with us. I’ve been thinking of you a lot. I have a card that I need to send you. xoxo

Leave a Reply

