Jai Ganesha!

myganesha

As I thought about Spring approaching (can someone please tell Mother Nature it is officially Spring? I would love some sunshine and warmer weather please. No more snow. Thank you!), I wanted to do something to celebrate this transformation. Initially I thought of doing 30 straight days of yoga. Why not? However, as I looked at the month ahead, ie, play practice for my daughters, Spring Break, etc, etc, etc, the idea quickly lost steam.

Then, the idea of embarking on a 40 day mantra practice dedicated to Ganesha, my favorite elephant, popped into my head. It was perfect. Ganesha is known for new beginnings. I have chanted to Ganesha many times but it’s been far too long since I dedicated a 40 day practice to my friend.

The photo above is of a Ganesha that I purchased while in India. I also purchased the mala beads in India; these are my sacred mala beads. I only use them to chant. Ganesha is sitting on my meditation cushion that my daughters gave me for Christmas.

In the past, whenever I have chanted to Ganesha, I have had a specific intention in mind. He is also known as the remover of obstacles. This time, however, my intention is sort of vague. I want to be happy. I want to feel like I’m living my dharma, my life’s purpose. I want to serve. I wrote a letter to Ganesha and said for him to surprise me. I can’t wait to see what manifests!! Of course I will keep you posted.

You can read more about the mantra I’m chanting here.

Leave a Reply

