In With The New

It’s hard to believe that 2012 is coming to a close. Despite my attempts at remaining in the present moment, I can’t help but to think of what’s in store for 2013. What do I want to happen? What do I want to experience? For me, it helps to create a vision board.

I’ve blogged about my vision board here and there. I even wrote about my board for a local website. I have my current vision board in my bedroom. I really love my board. I love the bright orange cardboard and I love all the pretty pictures and inspirational words that I put on there. However, for the past few weeks, I’ve felt ugh when I looked at my board. Blah. I realized yesterday that my vision board represented the past, not the future. So many of what I had on my board manifested, that I was not longer excited every time I looked at it.

That’s not to say that all my wishes have come true. One of the wishes that I have been wishing for years is to get published in a national woman’s magazine. I’ve tried and I’ve tried and I’ve tired and it hasn’t happened….yet. I’ve gotten to the point where I’m surrendering that particular dream. No, I’m not giving up. I just don’t know what else to do to make it come true, so I’m going to just wait until I  come up with a new idea or something happens in my life to make it come true.

Yesterday I read the latest issue of Whole Living Magazine. When I saw one of the cover lines (Healthy Strong Vibrant) my immediate thought was: that would be great to have on my vision board.  I ripped it out. Part of me felt it was too soon to start a new board. Shouldn’t I wait until January?  Shouldn’t I wait to put one together with my book club?

As I read the Kripalu catalogue (I wish I could put the entire catalogue on my board), I came across an article that made me laugh.  It was called Yoga In The New Year; it was all about transitions and changes as we enter 2013. Yoga Teacher Rolf Gates is featured in the article. He said that every November, he and his wife create a vision board. “In the fall, we start writing down our intention for the next year,” he says, which gives them a full three months to shape them into goals…”  Shit! I’m not early, I’m late! Ha!

I had some free time and a ton of magazines, so I began reading through the magazines and ripping out anything that appealed to me. I put them in a folder. Later this week I will go to Staples to buy another piece of colorful cardboard. Whenever I feel like it, I will put together another amazing vision board.

May all of our dreams come true for our best and highest good.

Leave a Reply

