I’m A Bad, Bad Yogi

I’ve always felt that having a home asana practice was very important. Yet, I can’t seem to motivate myself to practice at home. I have a ton of excuses. I don’t have a sacred space. I prefer practicing in a studio, feeling the energy, being surrounded by other yogis. I prefer being told what to do.

Despite these “valid” excuses, I still beat myself up for not practicing at home. I do meditate (well, on most days). I pray. I practice ahimsa to the best of my ability (except those times when I scream at my kids and then beat myself up for doing so). I even took a workshop on cultivating a home practice. That lasted about a day. I am a Yoga Alliance Certified Yoga Teacher for Krishna’s sakes! I should have a home practice.

This morning I couldn’t make one of my favorite classes because I was observing and assisting kids yoga classes in another town. I could have practiced at home but I didn’t feel like it. I tried to show compassion to myself. Maybe I  just need to accept the fact that I don’t like practicing at home instead of feeling like shit about it?

When I later logged onto Facebook, I saw a blog post on Yoga Journal that said “a new study finds that having a regular home yoga practice is a better predictor of health —and of a healthful lifestyle—than how many classes you might attend at a studio or for how long you practice.” Dozens and dozens of commenters posted how much they enjoy practicing at home. I was one of the lone who voiced their preference to practice at a studio. Shit, even a friend posted that she loves her home practice. I wonder if she saw my post?? She was probably too busy practicing her ujjayi breathing and engaging her mula bandha to notice.

Maybe one day I will be one of those extolling the joys of a home asana practice. In the meantime, I’ll see you at class. Namaste.

Leave a Reply

