Metta Meditation

This morning I practiced Metta Meditation. Metta is a Sanskrit word that means loving kindness. This meditation is an easy one, at least for me. It should fill your heart with love and peace. It can also make you cry. I cried this morning.

If you google, you will find lots of information on how to practice this meditation. Here is a site that I like. I also wanted to share my own way.

1) Find a comfortable position. You can sit in a chair or lay down. The most important thing is to find a comfortable position so you aren’t distracted.

2) Focus on your breath for a few minutes. Observe your inhalation and exhalation. Observe how you are feeling at that very moment. Focusing on your breath helps anchor you to the present moment. If you start thinking about lunch or your email, release the thought and return to the breath. Don’t beat yourself up! Be nice and gentle.

3) Think of yourself. Begin to repeat these phrases: May I be happy. May I be well. May I be safe. May I be peaceful and at ease. I like to say these phrases over and over, very slowly, allow the words to sink in.

4) After a minute or two, think of someone that you love. Send them these thoughts: May you be happy. May you be well. May you be safe. May you be peaceful and at ease.

5) After a minute or two, think of your community. Send them these thoughts: May you be happy. May you be well. May you be safe. May you be peaceful and at ease.

6) After a minute or two, think of the earth. Send the earth these thoughts: May you be happy. May you be well. May you be safe. May you be peaceful and at ease.

Sometimes, I like to think of someone who is annoying me. I send them these thoughts: May you be happy. May you be well. May you be safe. May you be peaceful and at ease. You can send these thoughts to anyone and everyone. Make it your own. I would love to hear your experiences with this meditation.

May you be happy. May you be well. May you be safe. May you be peaceful and at ease.

4 thoughts on “Metta Meditation

  1. Thanks for posting this, Judie. Maybe meditation is what I need – I have been feeling a little off lately. I will check out the link to the Metta Institute.

  2. Nidhi, thank you so much for reading my post and for your comment. Please keep me posted on your meditation practice! Namaste.

  3. I love that you wrote about this Judie–it’s such a great basic meditation for all of us. Thanks again. Carol Porter xo

Leave a Reply

