Surrender

According to dictionary.com, the word surrender means:

verb (used with object)

1. to yield (something) to the possession or power of another; deliver up possession of on demand or under duress: to surrender the fort to the enemy; to surrender the stolen goods to the police.
 
2. to give (oneself) up, as to the police.
 
3. to give (oneself) up to some influence, course, emotion,etc.: He surrendered himself to a life of hardship.
 
4. to give up, abandon, or relinquish (comfort, hope, etc.).
 
5. to yield or resign (an office, privilege, etc.) in favor of another.
 
It’s a word that has been on my mind ever since my trip to India. My teacher, Raghunath, encouraged us to surrender to the Divine. In a conversation I had with him about my dharma, he suggested I pray “My dear Lord from this day on I am Yours. Please engage me in Your service.” Surrender.
 
I’m a go getter. If I want something, I need to go out and make it happen. I associate surrender with #3: to give up, abandon, or relinquish. However, yesterday, something shifted inside me as I thought of the word. I realized that surrender is a bit more. Yes, it can mean to give up or abandon. But it doesn’t mean giving up your goal. It means giving up the outcome of the goal. You try your best and you surrender to the outcome.
 
Vic DiCara, an astrologer, and I have been talking about surrender. He shared with me a verse from the Gita: “karmaṇy evādhikāras te mā phaleṣu kadācana.” “We can control our effort, Not the results.” I think I’ve got it. 
 
What does surrender mean to you?

 

2 thoughts on “Surrender

  1. Love it! This applies to daily, moment to moment lives as well as a lifelong dharma. Raise your kids then let them be their own selves. Prepare your best meal then allow diners to enjoy or not. When we follow our heart/intuition, not everyone will like our direction; that’s okay, too.

    Thanks for the thought, Judie!

  2. Jennyzing, thank you so much for posting. I am reminded to surrender every single day. Hands up baby, Hands up!

Leave a Reply

