Eat, Pray, Love

Yippee! I now have a brand, spanking new MacBook Pro and can resume blogging.

Last week, in the span of 3 days, two people mentioned the book Eat, Pray, Love. I read the book when it first came out years ago. I even wrote about the movie for my local news website. Since I am going to India this October, I decided perhaps the Universe was giving me a message to re-read it.

Initially I was just going to read the India part but decided to start from the beginning. I’m currently in the India section, on page 152. What’s been standing out for me is the fact that she has a Guru. She writes: “There is a theory that if you yearn sincerely enough for a Guru, you will find one. The universe will shift, destiny’s molecules will get themselves organized and your path will soon intersect with the path of the master that you need.” Gilbert found hers in one month. One freaking month!

Where the hell is my Guru? Perhaps the Universe hasn’t been reading my blog posts. I know that Gilbert’s Guru is Gurumayi, although she does not name her in the book. One of my friends has called Gurumayi her Guru for decades. A few weeks ago, I was wearing my mala beads when I went into a local coffee shop. The owner mentioned Gurumayi. Another coincidence?

Of course, being the skeptical that I am, I did a google search on Gurumayi. There’s a lot of things on the internets about her. Most say not so great things.  It’s the same with Amma, The Hugging Saint.

Are there any authentic Gurus?? On one hand, I really want a Guru and on the other hand, I don’t think I would ever trust someone enough to believe they are a true Guru.

I am envious that Gilbert was able to find her Guru so quickly, that she was/is paid to travel and write and was able to visit all these amazing places.  I’m envious of the meditation and spiritual experiences she writes about in her book.

I do take solace in that fact that Gandi did not have a Guru (at least, that is what Gilbert wrote in the book).

Maybe I will find my Guru in India? In my review of the movie, I wrote:  “A visit to an ashram in India may be a trip in my future.”

In a few short months, that wish will come true. Maybe my wish for a Guru will come true as well.

We shall see.

4 thoughts on “Eat, Pray, Love

  1. Judie,
    Gurumayi is my Guru and I love her and the path of Siddha Yoga Meditation deeply. I was not looking for a guru when I found her (1993) and was fortunate enough to meet her in 1995. I feel very blessed to have found this path. My personal experience with Gurumayi and Siddha Yoga Meditation is what is important as opposed to what other people say.
    There are other Gurus and it seems that every Guru attracts some sort of controversy. As a matter of fact, I don’t know of ANY highly visible spiritual teacher that does not attract some controversy (witness Christopher Hitchens and Mother Theresa).
    The important thing, I believe, is where you feel led. The spiritual path is important and discretion is an essential part of that journey. Check out Mariana Caplan’s books and her website: http://www.realspirituality.com/ .
    Honor your heart and honor your path.
    Love and Peace

    Paul

  2. Paul, thank you so much for posting. I agree that many Gurus seem to have attracted controversy. It is an interesting journey.

  3. Gurumayi is authentic. I know there was a lot of bad press I spent a couple years in the Ashram with Gurumayi in the late eighties and she works very hard. No one can do what she does without being a master of yoga. Also though, what you need from the Guru is authentic teaching so you can accept it, and get kindled so you can grow into it and know all the time. The Siddha Yoga teachings are authentic. The main teaching of Muktananda and Siddha Yoga is “Love yourself, honor yourself, respect your own self; your God lives within you as You for you.” The rest of Siddha Yoga is learning how to do that (meditation, chanting, seva etc. ). If you can but get that message of Muktananda’s for a second, then a fire might be lit. I got lit while meditating how Muktananda taught in his book “Where are you Going”. After ignition, then you burn for a long time until you totally integrate the Shakti (Presence) and live in it. Its a lifelong journey of meditation. Basically you meet yourself (God) and learn to be with yourself all the time as you shed a lot of your tendencies to ignore the present moment (ignorance).

  4. Shiva, thank you for your comment. I don’t know much about Siddha Yoga. Based on what you wrote it sounds very interesting. Namaste.

Leave a Reply

