White Wedding

Yesterday was the birthday of one of my friends.  She and I were classmates last summer when we did our yoga teacher training. For  her birthday celebration, she invited friends to practice yoga at one of her favorite studios, Aquarian Yoga Center. I had seen photos of the studio on Facebook.  Another yoga teacher I know has mentioned this studio often and I had been meaning to take a class. When I received her invite, i jumped at the chance.

I will admit, though, that I was excited but also a bit apprehensive about going. I am a vinyasa type of girl, although I do practice other styles of yoga, such as Yin Yoga. Aquarian Yoga is a Kundalini studio. I don’t know much about that style, aside from the fact that most wear all white and there is a lot of pranayama, aka, breath work, in the practice. I did take that one Kundalini Prosperity workshop on January 1st but aside from that, I don’t think I have ever practiced that style before.

Turns out I was right about most of the students wearing white. Why do they wear white?  A google search led me to this answer:

Why wear white in Kundalini Yoga?

It’s simple: the color white expands a person’s aura, or the electromagnetic field that surrounds every one of us. When our aura is big – we can expand it up to nine feet – we feel strong, balanced, grounded and radiant, and can more easily handle the challenges of our daily lives with neutrality, peace and calm.

When our aura is small, we feel depressed, weak, off-center and ineffective. It is believed that a strong aura can also help to protect us from diseases.

Oops, guess I should not have worn black! Honestly, though, my attire was not an issue at this studio at all.  Everyone, including the “regulars” were very warm and welcoming. The class itself was very different than anything I had experienced before. Lots of breath work combined with asanas that were completely new to me.  We chanted and even sang Ong Namo, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

At the end of class, Akalsukh Singh, the founder and director of Aquarian Yoga Center, led a song directed to my friend in honor of her birthday. We also shared fruit, birthday cake and Yogi tea. It was a very joyful evening. I could see why A loves coming to this space.

It never ceases to amaze me how many different types of yoga (and teachers) exist. One can never get bored with the practice. I know there is a lot more to Kundalini than I experienced in this one 90 minute class.  I’m not sure if this is “my” type of yoga for me right now, but we shall see….

2 thoughts on “White Wedding

  1. I’ve never tried Kundalini yoga (yet!), but I agree with and applaud your trying new yogic styles. Keeps the Beginner’s Mind at the fore, and keeps us from settling into grooves we don’t want to climb out of!

Leave a Reply

