Does Everything Happen For A Reason?

I’ve been giving the phrase “everything happens for a reason” a lot of thought recently. I blogged a few months ago about my desire to go to India this year. Since that post, I did more research, found a tour and signed up. I made an appointment with the Department of Infectious Diseases. I purchased my airfare. I had sent in all the materials to get my Visa (what a pain in the ass that was). I’ve been sharing the news with my friends and everyone who asks how I was going to celebrate my upcoming 40th birthday. I was so excited, nervous and happy.

Then, on Mother’s Day, I received an email that broke my heart. The tour was canceled. Apparently two people had dropped out and she canceled the tour. I was in shock. I nearly burst into tears. I had just Fed Exed the stuff for my Visa that Friday, 2 days before receiving the email.

I turned to Facebook for support. So many well meaning friends posted things like “something better is coming your way!” and the dreaded “everything happens for a reason.”  However, I wasn’t ready to hear those sappy sayings.  Seriously, how can anyone say something better is coming? Who is the judge? How can I compare one tour verses the other?

As you may be able to tell, I was a bit bitter. One friend posted that perhaps the Universe was trying to teach me about patience. I wrote that I have been trying to get published in a woman’s health magazine for 4 years. I know about patience 🙂

I spoke with a yoga teacher about what was going on. She told me she didn’t believe everything happened for a reason. What a second?  You’re a yoga teacher and you don’t believe that? Her statement stopped me in my tracks. Did I even believe it?

I don’t think my mother’s death at a young age happened for a reason. It’s been 11 1/2 years and I still can’t find a good reason why she died. There are a handful of other events, illnesses, etc that I cannot fathom why they happened.

Look, I know that having this trip canceled is not the worst thing that could have happened to me. I have been through far worse events in my life. However, I was so looking forward to this trip.  After a few days, I started to accept this trip wasn’t going to happen. I have started to “move on” and to “let go.”  I started to do research on other tours, sending out emails, asking for suggestions.

Do I believe everything happens for a reason?  Maybe karma is the or a reason.  We will probably never know the “real” reasons why things happen.

10 thoughts on “Does Everything Happen For A Reason?

  1. I believe everything happens for a reason. It’s hard to accept that when it happens but over time you realize that you learnt something from it. Patience maybe, maybe a better opportunity, maybe the next group will be a better fit for you. I don’t know why, but over the years I have begun to notice those reasons. Imagination…. Maybe.
    I am from India, by the way….. What are the odds of someone from the other side of the world reads and comments on your blog?

  2. Josmojo, thank you so much for reading my blog and for posting a response. It means a lot, especially since you are from India 🙂

    In this particular instance of my trip being canceled, I can see it happening for a reason- maybe- a reason that I may never know. However, there are many things that have happened in my life- life threatening situations- that I cannot find a reason. One of my yoga teachers called these “unexplainable whys.” If we’re lucky, we get 3 or 4. I guess I am super, super lucky.

    I hope you continue to read my blog and give us your perspective. Namaste!

  3. I don’t think things “happen for a reason”. They just happen. Because we are learning people, we learn things from the things that happen to us. Life just is what it is and we can fight it or we can make the best of it as we go. Just take the next step and plan a new trip to India. Someday you WILL make it. Preserve 🙂

  4. Kathy! I love my Chameleon Inserts after all these years 🙂 So good to hear from you!!

    It seems as if people believe everything happens for a reason or they don’t. I’m still not sure. I do believe in karma so maybe that’s it. Sometimes we think we may know why things happen, but will we ever know for sure?

    I am still moving forward with my trip. However, now I am asking about the risk of cancellation to every tour. I am very interested in one tour and was told that no one else has signed up… She recommended a different date and said that two people signed up so she felt more secure that one would happen. However, there are no guarantees ; she said she would know for sure 60 days before departure. Talk about keeping me, and my family and my life, on my toes!

  5. If things do happen for a reason but we don’t fully know what that reason is, then what good is it? The reason your trip was canceled was because two people backed out. Some things just can’t be helped so we just move on. How about a different travel agent? I’m sure you’ll get there.
    I’m so happy you’re still using your Chameleon. Thanks for letting me know.
    Onward girl!!!!

  6. Kathy, I suspect it’s something we say to ourselves in order to make ourselves feel better about the situation. Who knows!

  7. I am sure I have said that phrase to others with good intentions, but I don’t think I will say it again.

  8. Pingback: Judiesjuice’s Blog

  9. Pingback: India, Here I Come! « Judiesjuice’s Blog

Leave a Reply

