It’s Been One Year

Last May, I blogged about my experience at receiving a darshan, or blessing, from Amma Sri Karunamayi. I’m amazed, that a year later, I am still not eating meat or fish on a regular basis.  I always loved eating meat and fish. I never, ever imagined I would be able to maintain this lifestyle. Over the years I had toyed with the idea of becoming a vegetarian (or, more precisely, a lacto-ovo, as a few have pointed out to me), but I never suspected that I would have been able to actually do it. And, it’s been somewhat easy!

This summer, my town pool will have a new caterer at the snack bar. This caterer is known for it’s fish and their delicious lobster rolls.  I can still remember the taste.  That’s really the only thing I do think I will have a hard time resisting.

I will admit that I have eaten a few bites of fish over the year. My brother buys imported anchovies from Spain. My daughters and I love them and our mouths drool in anticipation. They remind me of my mom and Spain. During Thanksgiving and Christmas, I ate a few. I made sure to say a prayer for the fish before I ate them.  During Easter, my Ecuadorian Mother in law made her well known ceviche with shrimp. Again, I had a few bites. Surprisingly, I didn’t have a taste for the shrimp and put them in my husband’s bowl when his mom wasn’t looking. I didn’t want to hurt her feelings.

Of course I’ve had a few tumbles along the way.  A few months ago I ate a bowl of french onion soup at a local restaurant.  For some reason, I assumed it was vegetarian since it didn’t have any meat. I don’t know what I was thinking! I soon began to get a huge stomache. I know the owner so I emailed him.  Turns out the soup was made with beef or chicken stock- I don’t remember. I was sick the rest of the day. He also told me that the smoked tomato soup that I occasionally purchased was made with chicken stock!  I had no idea. I haven’t had it since then. I felt awful but kept on reminding myself that I was doing the best that I could. I am sure there have been many other times when I have unknowingly consumed beef, chicken or fish.  And that’s ok.

We’re all doing the best we can.

One thought on “It’s Been One Year

  1. Pingback: Karunamayi Part III: Another Unexpected Gift | JudiesJuice

Leave a Reply

