Is It OK To Mix Yoga & Weights?

If you’ve been reading my blog, you know that I love yoga. I teach yoga to both children and adults. I also love other forms of exercise, such as The Bar Method. I have blogged about this obsession quite a few times! I enjoy taking classes at the gym, walks outside on sunny days. In fact, I’ve even run in a couple of 5ks.

One of my yoga teachers told me before she discovered yoga, she loved spin and was a spin teacher. Once she found yoga, she stopped. Now, this is just from my own perspective, but she seemed surprised to hear that I loved The Bar Method. In fact, at two different yoga classes, The Bar Method came up during class. One teacher said “Don’t do it!” Another time, a student brought up the fact that one of the asanas was similar to The Bar Method. At this class, the teacher wasn’t familiar with The Bar.

I will admit that at times, I felt bad or maybe guilty about the fact that I love classes like The Bar Method. I guess I feel that as a yoga teacher, it’s all that I should be doing. I’m not sure where that limited belief came into my consciousness, but it’s there.

The June 2012 issue of Yoga Journal has an article titled “Feel The Power.”  It’s a story on yogis and other forms of exercise and weight training.

This is one sentence: “After months of trying to heal the injury through yoga, she did what some yogis deem blasphemous- she hired a personal trainer.” See, I am not the only one who believes this!

The article takes the stance that weight training can help you develop a stronger yoga practice. I don’t think of it that way. My yoga practice feeds my spiritual desires. I don’t practice yoga to get stronger muscles. I practice yoga to open my chakras, be in the present moment, to remember who I am. I practice The Bar Method to get stronger muscles 🙂

It’s funny. My gym is now offering Barre classes and I enjoy them a lot. The teachers are familiar with yoga and infuse yoga asanas in the class. I even get ideas for my yoga classes by taking these classes. I know there are yoga teachers who do not agree with mixing yoga with other forms of exercise like Pilates and dance. I’m not one of those people. Perhaps if someone took one of these hybrid classes and developed an interest in yoga, then maybe they would end up taking a  yoga class.

The more I think about it, I do feel silly that I even held the notion that I was doing something wrong by doing other forms of exercise. It’s all good.

2 thoughts on “Is It OK To Mix Yoga & Weights?

  1. For almost three years now I have been mixing yoga and other activities together. It is through yoga and meditation that I awaken myself spiritually. If I want to get stronger I lift weights, run faster…I run more. More grounded and humble..yoga. Be well and have a splendid weekend!

Leave a Reply

