Finding My Voice

A few weeks ago, one of my  students asked me if all yoga teachers included spiritual aspects in their classes.  She continued to say that she really enjoyed the spiritual aspect of my class. Her question made me take a step back for a second. I would never call myself a “spiritual teacher” but the fact is that I cannot help but share my learnings with my students. I have studied many different types of meditation. I am a Reiki practitioner, I have studied and practiced different types of energy work, the Law of Attraction…for years and years. I remember reading the Power of Positive Thinking when I was 12 or 13 years old.

This conversation made me think of when I spoke with a Coach who helps yoga teachers brand themselves in the Fall. She came recommended to me by a yoga studio owner.  When we chatted, she asked me what types of classes I liked to teach and my style. We both came to the conclusion that it wasn’t the best time for me to use her services. How could I even think of branding myself when I was a new teacher? Honestly, I still don’t know exactly what my teaching style is.  I do know that I like to teach what one of my teachers, Jillian Pransky, calls Slow Flow. I do like to talk about Chakras in my classes.  I weave spirituality, Buddhism, and so on in my classes. I also know that my style will probably change as I can and continue my education. It’s been amazing for me to see how I have changed, grown and evolved. To me, yoga is so much more than a headstand. In the past, I was drawn to vigorous practices but these days, I appreciate holding poses and going deeper. It feels so damn good!

I am so thankful that my student started this conversation.  I can’t wait to see what manifests next.

Leave a Reply

