Hold It!

One of the reasons why I love yoga is that there are so many different styles of practice. Over the years, I’ve practiced Bikram, Ashtanga, Hatha, Hot, Warm and regular room temperature vinyasa and Kundalini. I love trying different styles and different teachers.

Recently, a friend told me that I should check out a class at Powerflow Yoga in Chatham called Yin Yoga. She raved about it. Last Sunday, I decided to check it out. The style reminded me of Restorative Yoga. In Restorative, you use a lot of props and then relax into the pose. This class had aspects of Restorative. For example, in Pigeon, we had the option to use a blanket or block to support or hips. Then, we held the pose for about 5-7 minutes. From my understanding, the intent is to fully relax so that the connective tissue is able to stretch. I did enjoy the class a lot. It also reminded me of my own teaching style. While I don’t have my students hold poses for that long, I do like the slow flow style of teaching.

When I did more research, I found out that another great studio, Garden State Yoga in Bloomfield, offered a monthly Yin Yoga class. The best part was the class included meditation. Spirituality is such an important part of my life and my yoga practice, so I was especially excited to take the class.  As fate would have it, the next class was held this past Friday night.

The class was amazing. I really enjoyed the teacher, Stacey Bell. I liked how she gave adjustments. She clearly is very knowledgable of the body and I was impressed by her verbiage. I wish the class was held more often!

I am definitely interested in learning more about Yin Yoga.

One thought on “Hold It!

  1. Pingback: White Wedding « Judiesjuice’s Blog

Leave a Reply

