Yoga Back Lash

Over the weekend, the New York Times published an article titled How Yoga Can Wreck Your Body. I have been amazed at the responses that I have read after people read the article.  I have seen non-yoga fitness instructors post this on their Facebook wall. One friend posted that she was not going to do shoulder stand any more. I have yoga teacher friends who say they no longer want to teach inversions in their class.

I am interviewing for a potential yoga teaching job today. The director of the space emailed me this article. She wanted to make sure I had read it. Bloggers have been posting about it left and right.

In my class, I always remind my students to be aware of their body. If something doesn’t feel good, don’t do it.  There is a difference between challenge and pain. It does bother me that yoga has gotten such a negative buzz.  I also know that this buzz will pass although I am afraid that certain people may be too afraid to try yoga.  This article also brought to light one of my biggest fears- someone getting injured in my class.

I was injured two times I was injured in a yoga class.  One time the teacher has years and years of experience.  She owns and leads a studio, she leads Yoga Alliance teacher trainings, etc. It was not her fault I got injured.  It was due to my own misjudgment and my own body misalignment.

All I can do is teach and guide from the safest viewpoint as possible.

Leave a Reply

