Happy New Year!

Last year, I was so excited about the Word Of The Year. Even though I did not keep up with my monthly recap of my Word, Slow, I did use the word as a mantra all year long. I’m not sure how effective it was. It did serve as a good reminder to me to have more patience but I still tend to want immediate results.  Nevertheless, I have been thinking about my new WOTY.  I came up with Be Present.  To me, Be Present means to be aware of the present moment.  To stop checking my Blackberry when I see the red blinking light while I’m listening to my children tell me about their day at school.  To remind myself that whatever I am worrying about or anxious about is not happening at that very moment.

A friend of mine has been posting about Gretchen Rubin’s book, The Happiness Project, on Facebook for the past couple of months. She’s been raving about it. I picked up the book on sale at Target yesterday and started reading it today. It’s a nice read so far.  I read Gretchen’s piece on New Year’s Resolutions the Huffington Post.

Today, I took part in a Prosperity Kundalini class.  It was amazing!  We did a a 5 part Kirya.  My teacher said that if we were to do one, it would be Har. She just posted on Facebook that one of the students got a job offer today.  Apparently this is a very effective meditation that only takes 3 minutes a day for 40 days. I feel as if I am betraying my bff, Ganesha, but I’m going to give this a try.

Happy 2012! May all your dreams come true this year!

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Petrichore, thank you for taking the time out to write a response. I appreciate it. Please let me know how the mantra works for you. I remember Be Present, but putting it into practice has been harder than I anticipated. Some habits are hard to break, but the good thing is that with every breath, I can start anew. Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: The Happiness Project « Judiesjuice’s Blog

  3. Pingback: Peace and Quiet « Judiesjuice’s Blog

  4. Pingback: White Wedding « Judiesjuice’s Blog

Leave a Reply

