What Are You Waiting For?

It never fails. Every January, people make a resolution to lose weight.  Gyms are crowded. Magazines promise ways to lose 10 pounds in a month (Fitness), fast, easy plans to drop pounds (Women’s Health) and how to beat belly fat (Redbook).

I’m right there with them all. Between subbing quite a few yoga classes, hosting my in-laws for a week, and taking care of my kids while school is out, I have been eating way too much and exercising way too less. I feel it. I notice it in my body. I don’t like it. Instead of waiting until January 1st, I decided to do something about it today. Actually, I decided to do something yesterday. My in-laws were still visting, but I headed to the gym anyway. I did about 20 min on the treadmill, took a one hour Barre class, then hit the treadmill for another 30 minutes. Today I took a one hour hot vinyasa class. It was great. I’ve also been drinking a lot more water.  I am so bad at that!

I know that I am not going to lose 5 pounds overnight but I also know minor changes will add up. At the very least, it makes me feel good in the inside knowing that I am going something positive about my health instead of bemoaning my actions.

So, what do you want in 2012?  What can you do today to get closer to your goal?

Leave a Reply

