Attitude of Gratitude

I hope all my readers had a great Thanksgiving. I have been talking about thankfulness and gratitude during my yoga classes during the month of November. It’s been a fun conversation, especially at my kids yoga classes.  I always bring a snack, which we eat as a yogi (aka mindful eating). We end by thanking all the things that took part in giving us the snack.  We thank the sun and the soil.  We thank the rain and the farmers who picked the apple from the tree.  We thank the person who put the sticker on the apple. The kids always think of something or someone new to thank.

I know it’s easy to give thanks when things are going well.  It can be easy to show gratitude when things aren’t that great, but they aren’t so bad either. However, what about when something truly horrible happens? Yesterday, I received the shocking news of a friend’s passing on Thanksgiving Day. He leaves behind a partner and two young children, the exact ages as my two daughters. I’ve known the family for years. Can this family, the children, friends who are grieving, feel gratitude right now?  I don’t think so. I don’t know if I have ever read something about death and having a positive attitude.  About losing someone that you love yet still finding the silver lining.

It’s been nearly 11 years since I lost my mom. I think about her every single day. I miss her every single day. I am at the point of healing where I do feel grateful for having her as a mom and for appreciating our relationship. But it still hurts a lot.

I hold my friends in my heart.

Leave a Reply

