Well, Duh!

Have you ever had a conversation with a friend who is asking you for advice?  The answer is so obvious to you but remains elusive to your friend. Then when you tell her, she’s like “Oh, of course! Why didn’t I think of that?”

I’ve been having those types of conversations recently, except I’ve been the one saying “well, duh!” For example, I teach yoga to kids who have behavioral issues. One struggle that has been present at every class is the issue with the yoga mats. The kids fight for the yoga mat that they want. At first, my instinct was to ask the Director to see if we could purchase yoga mats that are all the same color. Before I asked her, I was introduced to a kids yoga teacher, Carissa, who runs her own studio. She suggested to get rid of the yoga mats for the time being. Well, duh! Apparently fighting over yoga mats doesn’t just happen to kids with behavioral issues. It’s a common problem.

Tomorrow I’m going to teach the class with an entirely new set of eyes and tools. Starting with no yoga mats.

Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

