Do You Really Remember 9/11?

I’ve been on edge all week. I’ve been tempted to run away from the feelings of sadness but instead, for once, I have allowed the feelings to emerge.

My heart goes out to the people who lost their lives that day, including my friend Vincent Kane, a firefighter. My heart goes out to everyone who lost someone they loved. My heart goes out to all the volunteers who worked religiously for days and nights on end trying to save lives. My brother, Tony, was one of those volunteers.

We New Yorkers like to say “we will never forget.” That may be true on this day, but what about September 12th? Or June 18th? Or April 3rd? Do we, on those ordinary days, remember that our lives can end at any second? That at any given moment, our world can suddenly change?  I know I forget. I forget every single second.

I need to remember. I must.

Leave a Reply

