Just Say No

My last post was about accepting various opportunities.  This time, I’m writing about saying no. I usually have a hard time saying no when things come my way. I love new experiences and feel that if I’m presented with an opportunity, it’s for a good reason. So, I usually say yes.

However, saying yes isn’t always the best response. I have a lot on my plate these days. I am nearing the end of my 300-hour yoga teacher training program. I have a lot of work and assignments that I need to complete. I’m starting to teach three yoga classes within the next few weeks. I am also writing for a skincare website called OWN; I am on deadline.

When another writing opportunity came up, I immediately jumped at the chance. I thought “I can do this!” and I did give it my best shot. But, I was way too stressed. I was being pulled in way too many directions and it was all my fault. I didn’t feel satisfied with my work, since I always give 110% of myself. After a quick chat with my husband, I decided that the last opportunity wasn’t going to work out. It wasn’t an easy decision for me to make. I don’t like to say no.

During this process, I had been emailing my meditation teacher, Jennifer Hamilton, for one of my writing assignments.  I told her what was going on. She wrote “I guess you could chalk this up to a learning experience!  Part of that is learning your limits and know what is okay for you and what is not.  Not every “opportunity” is golden unfortunately….and learning when to say no is just as important as learning when to say yes.”

I’m still chewing on her wise words. What about you? Do you usually say yes or no?

4 thoughts on “Just Say No

  1. I love this! As this week has reminded all of us parents, the time goes fast. Yes, we want to do and provide. But sometimes we just have to chill. It is a hard balance, but yoga is a great tool to help us.

  2. It’s so important to know when to hold them and know when to fold them as Kenny Rogers sung many years ago. There are always many choices moment by moment but things like this happen a lot.
    Many things happen at once even on a weekend and we have to choose. Superwoman or man gets burned out… and as you said you cannot do the best job.
    More space and time allows more opportunities to be fulfilling, successful and purposeful. Relationships as well. Stop over booking your day and life and enjoy everything.
    I have been doing this for decades in all aspects of my life and it works!
    PS this keeps you healthy and pain free too!
    Blessings, Janet

Leave a Reply

