Please Read This

Months ago, I took a writing class that focused on personal essays. I wrote an essay, pitched it to various magazines and websites and didn’t get one bite. All the editors said it was a nice essay but blah blah blah.

Yesterday, I read an essay on cnn.com that was very similar, in some ways, to the one that I wrote. I reread my essay, made a few tweaks and sent it out yet again. This time, one editor said she loved it and wanted to publish it.

You can read it here.

I have never written something so personal. Even though I didn’t reveal any real family secrets, I did put myself out there in a way that I have never done before.

Will there be a second time?  Maybe…..

Leave a Reply

