How Low Can You Go?

Yesterday we studied three hours of anatomy during our yoga teacher training program. (Side note: I find the topic very interesting. The teacher is great). One of of the cool things about the teacher is that she is also a physical therapist. She really knows her stuff.

At one point, we discussed hanumanasana, or split pose. It’s a pose that I always dreamed of doing but never seemed possible. I had never even asked a teacher about it. This time, I didn’t ignore the opportunity.

The teacher asked me to demonstrate the pose in front of my classmates. I was able to get about half way down. The teacher noted that it looked easy for me to get into the asana, despite having been seated for a couple of hours and no warm up had taken place.

She said that if I practiced this move every single day, on both legs, for 90 seconds, I would be able to hit the floor in a year.  In fact, she said that if I did it every day until graduation day (mid- September), I would make great strides.

I’m very excited to try this out! I will keep you posted.

4 thoughts on “How Low Can You Go?

  1. Raymond, thank you for putting a smile on my face. It’s a move that I’ve always wanted to do and I’m finally doing something about it to make it happen. It not now, then when?

  2. This is interesting to me. I started re-taking ballet since my doctor suggested it for my back. We do(or try to do) splits as well. My teacher said(guaranteed!!) that by the time the class ends(7 weeks) we’ll all be at least 3 inches lower. For me that would be a complete split. I guess we’ll see….

  3. Jennifer, that’s great. I’ve been doing it for the past two days and I swear I am already getting lower. The crazy thing is that I’ve also been sore. 90 seconds never seemed so long!

Leave a Reply

