My Time Is Running Out At The Bar Method

I have one week left at The Bar Method. I’ve been going each week 4x a week. I am loving it. I am not missing the gym at all. I do miss yoga but I also know that I am going to be practicing yoga so much this summer that I’m ok with taking a break before I begin my summer intensive training next weekend.

One of my friends, M, asked to join me at a class. She said she had always wanted to check it out but was nervous to go alone. (Side note: I am so different. I love checking out new classes and studios alone.)

M joined me on class on Thursday. And Friday. She loved it so much she signed up to do a one month unlimited. It’s pretty fun watching someone experience The Bar Method for the first time. I did want to step in to adjust her form. The really funny thing is that both days the teacher kept on adjusting me! I guess my form needs improvement as well.

M pointed out how everyone is so thin and toned at class. She said it’s great inspiration. It’s interesting that she mentioned that because it’s something I’ve noticed as well. You’d have to be blind not to notice everyone’s beauty and strength. Sometimes, though, I can’t help but compare my body with theirs. I sometimes feel like I’m the fattest and biggest person in the room! I’m a petite Latina with hips and a booty. Some of the women in class look like former models or ballerinas. I definitely stand out in the class!

I’m happy with my muscles but sometimes I do wish I was 5-10 pounds thinner. I never, ever mention this in front of my children and it’s not even something I talk about with my friends.

I should say that not everyone in class is skinny or toned. There are always women who don’t look like they appeared in Black Swan.

I’m going to enjoy my last week as much as I possibly can. Until next time.

2 thoughts on “My Time Is Running Out At The Bar Method

  1. Lexi, thank you so much for responding to my post. I have the dvds too but I much prefer the live classes. I love the teachers, the music and the energy. I *know* I should not compare myself to anyone. I’m working on it.

Leave a Reply

