Vedic, aka, Transcendental Meditation

Almost two weekends ago, I took part in a meditation workshop. I was very excited about it. I’ve taken a few meditation workshops here and there, none have lasted more than an hour or two. In this particular program, I was going to learn a specific type of meditation practice.

It’s known as Trascendental Meditation. My teacher who taught the class has been meditation for over 37 years! However, the term TM is now trademarked so she called the class Vedic Meditation. However, it’s the same exact type of meditation practice.

We met on Friday night for two hours. There were about 11 of us in total. That night we talked about meditation and got a general overview of what to expect. On Saturday, each of us met with the teacher for one hour. We were given our own personal mantra to use in the meditation. Since then, I’ve been asked if I’m happy with my mantra. Let me tell you that it’s not anything amazing or awe inspiring. It’s not like a word like “love” or “I am amazing.” It’s a tool that is supposed to put you in a deeper level of consciousness.

On Sunday, we met for 6 hours. By that time, we had all had two meditation practices with our mantra. Oh yeah, we’re supposed to meditate for 20 minutes twice a day. Once in the morning before breakfast and once in the afternoon before dinner.

It’s been an interesting journey these past two weeks. Meditating twice a day is hard! 20 minutes may not seem like a long time but it is!

My teacher gave us some tips that have helped me. She said “You will have thoughts.” Just go back to the mantra. During my morning practice, I was thinking about writing this blog post. It’s amazing how you can meditate on a mantra and yet still think about what to make for dinner simultaneously.

She also said that even if we think nothing is happening, something is happening. Some of my meditations have felt very deep. Other times, aka, most times, I’ve felt that I could not get my mind to stop with the chitter chatter and nothing was accomplished. Yet, even during those meditations, I have to almost wake myself up after I’m done. I have felt a lot more calm and relaxed with my children and life in general.

The cool thing for me is that I’ve beeb able to take it one meditation at a time. Some days I’m not able to do the afternoon meditation. And I do feel guilty about skipping but then I get back to it the next day. I keep on going.

Leave a Reply

