Resilience

I really love the Japanese saying “Fall down seven times, get up eight.” I love it when things are going great in my life. You know, those times when things just fall into your lap, the sun is shining, you feel amazing and beautiful. It’s super easy to feel confident and successful.

And then stuff happens. This past week I received news that I was not expecting. I was shocked. Dumbfounded. Angry and upset. Hopeless.

I’ve been trying to make sense of the event. I thought I did all the “right” things. I took action, did my research, I prayed, I let go, etc etc. But it still didn’t manifest in the way I expected.

So, now what? For the past few days, I’ve been seriously considering giving up the goal. I mean, isn’t it clear that you aren’t in the flow when things don’t flow? Maybe this is a sign from the Universe telling me “Judie, get off this path. It just ain’t gonna happen.”

But what if I’m wrong? What if the timing just wasn’t right? What if I should not give up?

This morning I attended a meditation and yoga class with one of my favorite yoga and spiritual teachers, Dana Murphy. She shared an affirmation that was coined by Florence Scovel Shinn. “The waters of my Red Sea part, and I pass over on dry land, I now go forward into my Promised Land.”

I am ready for my Red Sea to part. I am walking forward into my Promised Land.

2 thoughts on “Resilience

  1. Mberger, thanks for your comment but I’m confused. Are you saying to move on from my particular dream? Ain’t gonna happen 🙂

Leave a Reply

