Time For A Resolution

Today is the beginning of Lent. In Christianity, Lent marks the 40 days before Easter. Traditionally during Lent people tend to give up something they love. Some people decide to take something on, like volunteering.

A friend posted on Facebook asking for ideas for things she should give up. But she wasn’t looking to give up a bad habit. She feels compelled to give up something she really enjoys. Why? Would God really want us to do that? I don’t think so. I do know that the collective unconscious seems to think it’s ok, good even, to show some sacrifice during this time of year.

It’s been a long, long time since I practiced Lent. However, this year I decided to join in on the fun. Tonight I am going to a workshop that is based on the book 40 Days To Freedom. A Lenten Practice For The Modern Mind. According to the email I received, it’s a unique take on Lent. Yes, I will be giving up something. I will be giving up gossip (shit, can I do that?? Really?), anger and resentment. It definitely sounds like a challenge. I’m excited and a tiny bit frightened to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

