Peace and Quiet. Not.

I’ve been thinking about meditation a lot these days. My weekly Patch.com column focused on meditation. At a recent book club, the conversation turned to meditation. For some reason, my friends seem to think I’m an expert! But I don’t feel like an expert. Not even close.

I’m still doing my daily mantra chant to Ganesh. I consider that my meditation practice. It only takes me about 5 minutes in the morning and 5 minutes at night.

I don’t think I am feeling any more zen or peace that before I began chanting again. In fact, I am so aware of the chatter that goes on in my head all the time. When I’m chanting, there is still a voice that is so loud. I can say Om Gum and another part is saying Don’t forget you need to do the laundry and follow up with that editor and you need to think of a new idea for next week’s column and you need to schedule a hair cut. I just can’t shut up!

I suppose if I chanted for a longer time period, perhaps I would be able to achieve that zen like state. But I just don’t feel like doing it. I pray that those 5 minutes twice a day is helping me in some way.

2 thoughts on “Peace and Quiet. Not.

  1. If you are truly looking for inner peace and what you do is not working for you, why not search and try something else. Life is truly beautiful. When you find the beauty within, then you will find the beauty without. Never stop searching until you find your answers.

  2. John, thank you so much for visiting my blog and for your comment. I’m always experimenting with different ways to achieve inner peace. I’m having a great time searching. Will I ever find the magic key? I know it’s already inside me.

Leave a Reply

