Have You Found “The One”?

Last week an acquaintance and I were emailing on Facebook. I was interested in learning more about a healing modality she uses called ho’oponopono. When we chatted, I learned that she discovered this process in 1986 and has been practicing it ever since. She said that initially she had dabbled in various forms of healing modalities but didn’t fall in love with any of them. Once she found ho’oponopono, she had found “the one.”

She told me I probably hadn’t found “the one” yet.

I wondered if that was the truth for me. What if I had already found the one but since I am always searching for something else, I had overlooked it? I know that I don’t give myself or the modality enough time to really cook.

Suddenly, I remembered chanting mantras. It was something I had done in the past and really enjoyed it. I decided to reach for my mala beads and begin anew. I wanted to chant to Ganesh. Ganesh helps remove obstacles and also helps new endeavors run smoothly. I also reached for my book Healing Mantras that was written by Thomas Ashley-Farrand. Ashley-Farrand wrote how, with Ganesh’s help, he was able to find a job during a time when it seemed like he could not find one.

When I began chanting, I was amazed that I had forgotten how much I enjoyed chanting! I just love how it makes me feel. The chant, Om Gum Ganapatayei Namaha (Om Gum Guh-Nuh-Puh-Tuh-Yei Nahm-Ah-Ha) vibrates throughout my body.

Ashley-Farrand recommends coming up with a specific goal and setting an intention before you begin your chant. I wrote down a goal and I also included Reiki symbols on the paper. Hey, might as well use as many tools as possible, right?

The funny thing is that I am not even sure which date I began chanting. I think it was either Saturday or Sunday. I feel as if I have been chanting my entire life! I’ve been chanting every morning and before bed. I go to bed early most nights but I’ve stayed up, no matter how late, to chant. That in itself is shocking to me. I chant while driving. Usually I love listening to music while I’m driving but for the past few days, the music remains off and I chant.

On Tuesday, I received an email from an editor offering me an assignment. That same day I was offered a major writing project. Damn, Ganesh really works! Thank you, thank you, thank you.

On a side note, I receive Ashley-Farrand’s newsletter. Last Fall, I was so sad to learn that he had passed away from cancer. Even though I never met him, I felt attached to him. When I picked up the book again, I felt so strange and sad. I hope his wife is doing well. May he rest in peace.

4 thoughts on “Have You Found “The One”?

  1. Pingback: More is Better « Judiesjuice’s Blog

  2. Pingback: An Old Friend « Judiesjuice’s Blog

Leave a Reply

