Do You Believe In The “Highest Good”?

I’ve been hearing the phrase the “highest good” a lot lately. From my understanding, it means that while at times we want what we want, it may not be for our highest good to get what we want at that time. That sort of makes sense to me. Except when I don’t get what I want.

Today, I was supposed to attend a wake for a family member. I had to cancel three meetings in order to attend the wake. Before I left, I put the address into my GPS. For whatever reason, GPS would not register the address. It kept on giving me the wrong zip code. I called my husband for help. He was at work, preparing for an important meeting and really couldn’t help me. He advised me to print out the directions.

I knew this was going to suck.

As I got on the highway, I made a turn. The directions flew onto the passenger side of the floor. Shit! I had reviewed the directions so I knew where to go but I started to panic. Then I missed the exit.

I won’t bore you with all the details but will tell you that I arrived back home, 90 minutes later. Having missed the wake. I did stop and ask for directions. But I kept on getting lost. I did call my husband (busy preparing for the meeting) and my dad (no help aside from sympathy).

I felt so, so bad about missing the wake. And feeling like a freaking idiot that I could not find my way there. I kept on reminding myself that maybe it wasn’t in my highest good for me to attend the wake. Maybe I would have gotten into a car accident or maybe it just wasn’t meant to be.

But I still feel like shit.

Leave a Reply

