Food, Glorious Food

I’ve been reading the book Women Food and God by Geneen Roth. Even though I have never had an addiction to food, I nevertheless devoured (yes, pun intended) the book. I was amazed to read that Roth has lost and regained 1,000 pounds! How does someone keep track of such a statistic?

It also amazes me at how many women I have met over the years who had serious issues with food. It’s frightening, actually. As a mother to two young daughters, I am very aware of my own issues with food. I don’t have a sweet tooth and it bothers me that my daughters are constantly asking for sweets. My husband has a sweet tooth so they must have inherited it from him 🙂 I try to instill the idea of everything in moderation. I eat a lot of salads and vegetables. My girls may not eat the veggies but at least they are familiar with the term “brussels sprouts.”

In her book, Roth states “….how simple it was to end the compulsion with food- eat what your body wants when you’re hungry, stop when you’ve had enough…” Now that does sound easy, but then why is it so hard? Look at Oprah. Look at the show Ruby. It’s a compulsion so many women share. And if it’s not with food, it’s with something else like shopping, handbags, clothes, shoes, the internet, etc etc. Who can’t relate to one, if not, all of the above?

Leave a Reply

