The Bar Is Killing Me!

Yesterday was a big day for me. I began my month long membership at The Bar Method located in Summit, NJ. As I expected, most everyone was dressed head to toe in lululemon. No surprise there. I tried not to stare at everyone’s physiques too. Damn, everyone looked so lean and toned.

Again, as I expected, I could not keep up with the class. I have not taken a class in a lonnnggggg time. OK, I lied. I did take a class on my birthday earlier this month, but this class felt different. Perhaps mentally I knew I was in the long haul? Regardless of the reason, my legs felt like rubber. Oh, wait, I did forget to mention one thing. I went running at 6:30 am. Yes, call me crazy but my husband was not traveling and since I need to continue to run in preparation for my upcoming 5k, I decided to run the same 5k route I ran on Saturday with my friend. Perhaps that was the reason why I felt so weak during class?

Maybe. Maybe not. I was back there today. And my legs hurt. And I couldn’t keep up. I was the. only. person. not able to do all the reps. I will admit that I watch what people are doing and if they give up like me. And they didn’t. I wanted to cry. From the pain. And also the fact that I felt weak. I’m used to feeling strong.

I mentioned this to my husband. He said it sounded like I was beating myself up. He pointed out that everyone else had probably been taking classes for a while. Unlike me. Again, maybe. Maybe not.

I am up for the challenge. I can’t wait to see how I feel at the end of my membership. I’m already getting sad that I only have one month to take classes. Well, I suppose I could continue taking classes but I can’t afford that, plus my gym membership and the occasional hot vinyasa yoga at Baker Street Yoga that I do.

Speaking of which, I am going to be taking a break from The Bar Method and taking a yoga class tomorrow. It’s been a while and I can’t wait! I’ll be back at The Bar on Thursday and Friday. I need to make the most of my month! Thinner thighs and buffer biceps, here I come!

2 thoughts on “The Bar Is Killing Me!

  1. Hi Judy,
    Thanks for sharing your Bar Method journey. The first day is so hard! But it is smart to do a month because then you get in the rhythm and you even start to LOOK FORWARD to class. That’s my experience, anyway.
    Best,
    Mimi
    (Bar Method LA)

  2. Mimi, thank you so much for visiting my blog and for posting a comment. I feel honored by your presence! If you have read previous posts of mine about The Bar Method, you will know that I am a huge fan. It’s a killer workout that gets results. Today I went for a 5k run and a hot vinyasa yoga class but I will be back at The Bar tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

