I Did It! I Really Did It!

I am still in shock that I ran and completed my first 5k last night.  At 8pm. Drenched in sweat and humidity. It was hard. Really, really hard. A lot harder than I ever expected. But I did it! Yippee!

I wrote a personal essay about my experience. You can read it all about it here: http://maplewood.patch.com/articles/how-to-run-a-5k-and-live-to-tell#c

One thing that I am surprised about is my time. I clocked in at 35:08. I think that is a pretty decent time, considering it was my first race ever and it was really hot. However, my ego is telling me that I ran slowly. It’s not letting me enjoy my success.  Damn you Ego!

My next 5k will be on July 4th. I aim to beat my time. I’m hoping that since it will be an early race at 8 am versus 8pm, I will be able to run faster. Although I felt I ran pretty damn fast last night.  We shall see….

6 thoughts on “I Did It! I Really Did It!

  1. That’s awesome, Judie! I think 35:08 seems FAST and certainly a really great time for your first race. I can’t wait to hear how you do on July 4th!

  2. Thanks Marianne! I’ve only ran once this week and that was only for 2 miles on the treadmill. Uh oh….

  3. so amazing! great job!! 😀 yay!! yes that feeling is so great when u’re done!

Leave a Reply

