Don’t Stop Believing

Ok so this is a bit hard to explain. In my head, I *know* that I’ve been using the Couch to 5k program to train for a 5k. And yet, it doesn’t seem real. On Friday morning, I ran with a group of my friends. I could not sleep on Thursday night. I could not believe how nervous I was to run with them! They are my friends after all, but they they are also very experienced runners.  They have run many races and I just felt I was too much of a newbie to be running with them. Their usual run is 4 1/2 miles. At that point, I had only managed to run 2 1/2 miles so I knew I was not going to be able to do the entire run with them.

I ran 1 1 /2 miles with them before turning around. I ended up running 3 miles! It is definitely true that you push yourself to go faster and longer when you run with someone else. I ran alone on Sunday. Again, I ran the 3 miles. Cool, huh?

OK, here’s the weird part and hard to explain part. Part of me doesn’t feel like I ever had a problem running. Part of me feels like I have been running forever Part of me does not remember when I could barely run 10 minutes straight and here I am running for 35 minutes. Is that weird or what!?!?!

I am not going to give it much more thought. I am going to lace up my sneakers and head out for a run.

Leave a Reply

