In Your Eyes

The other day, a friend of mine, T,  posted on Facebook that she wanted to figure out a way she could be happy and skinny. Her post drew a flurry of responses from friends.  Seriously, she received 22 responses which ranged from “You are skinny!”  to “You look amazing!” to “Run more.” In my eyes, she does look great. But I could totally relate to what she posted. I want to be happy and skinny too.

Later, T and I emailed about her post. She revealed that she had posted it after a bad shopping experience. Who could blame her? The funny thing is that one of T’s friends said she had been staring at her during yoga and wondered how she was able to look so great. And yet my friend wasn’t feeling that great about herself.

Yesterday I saw a friend I hadn’t seen in a couple of months. She told me I looked “‘tiny.” Really? Was she serious? How come I don’t feel tiny?

I think it would be amazing to see ourselves through someone else’s eyes for a change. I suspect it would be a mind blowing experience.

Leave a Reply

