Do You Follow The Leader?

I was very excited to go to the gym yesterday. As much as I have been enjoying running, I do miss working out with weights. This teacher is one of the best ones at my gym and I was looking forward to her body sculpting class.

A few minutes into it, I realized why I sometimes I don’t like classes. One one hand, I love classes because I love the group setting, working out with great music and a great teacher telling me what to do since I am pretty clueless as to what to do on my own. On the other hand, I sometimes don’t like doing what I am told to do.

I’ve noticed that a lot of teachers like to work out shoulders. I hate working out my shoulders. I have naturally broad shoulders. One time, my mother in law asked me if I was wearing shoulder pads. What the hell?!?  Of course I was not, it’s freaking 2010. She didn’t seem to believe me and grabbed my shoulders to double check.  She had a look of shock on her face. Other people have commented on my “strong” shoulders. Needless to say, I don’t feel like I need to work out my shoulders for 15 minutes. I would much rather spend the time on my biceps.

After what seemed to be hours, we did move on to other muscle groups. Then she had us do moves that started to bother my back. If you are a regular reader of my blog, you may remember that I had a back injury last year. While I am recovered, I am still very mindful of my back. I knew these moves were not good for me. So I stopped doing them. I just stopped. Now this may not seem like a big deal to you but it felt like a big deal to me. I felt that every single person was going to notice and wonder what was wrong with me or that I was too weak to do the moves. I looked around and saw that everyone was looking at themselves in the mirror and they could care less about me.

I did notice the teacher looking at me. I felt bad, as in, I am a bad person for not doing what I was being told to do. I wondered what she was thinking. Throughout the rest of the class, if something bothered me, I didn’t do it. Or I did something else.

Anyway, after class, I approached her and told her I have a sensitive back and didn’t want to do some of the moves. She had a big smile on her face and said it was fine. She actually said she was happy to hear I was aware of what was going on in my body.  I was happy that I listened and took action.

Leave a Reply

