Still Doing It

Can this be possible? Can I be on the way to becoming a runner?

Yesterday I faced a dilemma. I really wanted to run. I also wanted to work out with weights. As much as I love cardio, I also love feeling toned. Working out with weights makes me feel strong. How could I manage to do it all? I decided to just do it. I saw that my gym was offering a sculpting class at 10:30. I decided to take that class.  I also decided that I would run on the treadmill prior to the class.

Back in the good old days, ie, in my 20s, I would take two consecutive classes at the gym. It wasn’t a big deal back then. This time, though, I did have second thoughts. Yet, I did it. I ran nearly 2 miles on the treadmill and basically had to rip myself off the treadmill to take the class. As much as I was enjoying my run, I also felt that I was going to regret not working out with weights.

When I woke up this morning, I was surprised that I wasn’t that sore. I was expecting to be in pain. I ended up meeting a colleague for a cup of coffee. I decided to wear my work out gear in case I felt inspired to run in the park after the meeting. Since the run was shining and the birds were chirping, I felt inspired to go for a run in the park.

As I began running…..ouch! I suddenly felt muscles. I was in pain. I told myself to continue despite the pain. However, I could barely put one leg in front of the other. I decided to listen to my body and take it easy. I spent the rest of the time power walking.

Even though I didn’t run, I still felt great that at least I tried!

Leave a Reply

