Not Very Yogi Like

I was very excited to get on my mat this morning. It had been a while and I was looking forward to practicing at my favorite yoga studio, Baker Street Yoga. As usual, I got to the studio, chatted with the owners, and set up my spot. As soon as that was all done, I looked around and checked out everyone else. I don’t think I have ever admitted this to anyone. I check out other people. All. The. Time.

When I say check out, I mean, I look at other women and compare myself to them. Is she fatter or thinner than me?  Is she prettier than me? Her hair looks amazing, I wonder where she gets it cut.  Is she wearing lulu?  OMG, she is wearing a lulu sports bra AND pants. How the hell can she afford that? You get the picture.

One would think that I would be able to monitor my thoughts and maintain a more Zen like composure, especially during a yoga class. But that clearly ain’t happening. Today I sat next to a beautiful blonde. As I was checking her out, I realized she looked vaguely familiar.  We realized that we had met each other at a mutual friend’s party. I later found out she has three kids. And she looked amazing and so thin. What a bitch!

It didn’t end there. During the class, I could not help but notice her asanas. She clearly has been practicing yoga for many lifetimes. Her heels touch the ground during down dog for goodness sakes! I’ve been practicing yoga on and off for 12 years and I still can’t get my heels to touch.

Admitting that you have a problem is the first step to recovery, right?

2 thoughts on “Not Very Yogi Like

  1. It is really hard not to make comparisons. I think the key is not letting them make you feel displeased with what you do have.

Leave a Reply

