Pink Made Me Blue

I was excited to read the January/February 2010 issue of Women’s Health Magazine. Pink is on the cover. I don’t know too much about her but she strikes me as one tough cookie. She is not rail thin. Instead, she looks muscular and strong. You can tell she works out hard. I admire that.

I thought the interview was very interesting although I was a tad disappointed in some of the things she said. For example, the writer says “You’ve always been buff, but your body is hotter than ever! You’re a total 10!” Pink replies, “No, no, no! I feel like a seven and a half!”

For some reason, reading that bothered me. Pink thinks she’s a 7 1/2?!??!  That’s just crazy. In the article, she is also quoted as saying “I’m not going to lie and tell you when I look in the mirror there’s nothing I don’t want to fix.”

However, the more I thought about it, the more I realized that she sounds like practically every woman that I know. My friends are always saying that they want to lose 5 (or 10 or 20) pounds or that they feel fat or that they have not gone to the gym this week and feel like crap. Hell, I have had those same exact thoughts.

Pink does say that she likes the results that working out gives her. “I feel strong.” I just wish that more women felt just as strong about their bodies and appearance.


Leave a Reply

