What Do You Think of Jillian Michaels?

It seems that everywhere I turn, I am reading or hearing about Jillian Michaels. I read that she is now a contributing editor at Self Magazine. (I am soooo jealous)!!  She is also on the cover of the latest issue of Ladies Home Journal Magazine. They also featured a workout of hers on their website.

I don’t watch The Biggest Loser but I know it is still high in the ratings. Good for her!

However, I was a bit upset when I read that Jillian has come out with diet supplements. Granted, I don’t know that much about her, but my impression of her is that she stands for working hard, no excuses. Does she really believe that the answer is a supplement? The folks at Fitsugar.com  also wondered if her latest project would affect the public’s image of her.

What do you think? Do you even care?

12 thoughts on “What Do You Think of Jillian Michaels?

  1. I love The Biggest Loser, and it perplexes, irritates and angers me that she is selling supplements. On the show, she talks about eating vegetables and counting calories.. a “quick fix” is contrary to everything she preaches. It’s disturbing.

    And she is the more “tough love” of the two trainers! I bet if someone tried to take that on the show she would kick her/his ass!

  2. I read that she (and her handlers) sought outlets to soften her no-nonsense, maniacal personality. The timing of her publicity and launch of various products (good, bad or indifferent) is perfectly timed with the debut of “Biggest Loser.” What??!! Jillian has a soft side?! But, I like her bad girl of health and wellness persona!

    As a marketer, she is the “it” person right now… AND a brand, now too. Well-known. Well-liked. Trusted. Dynamic. Offers something of value to people. Stands for something. As a marketer, she is a dream.

    My bet is that she sees THIS MOMENT as her “accelerate window”– the time to take advantage of what little time she may have to generate fun, fame and fortune for herself and her brand.

    With all the 300, 400 and 500+ contestants on “Biggest Loser” this season representing the masses of Americans out of control with the nutrition, health and wellness– is it such a bad thing to ride the wave and try to persuade chubby people to ride along? Granted, purists within the health and nutrition world may be a little dis-heartened, but at least Jillian is attempting to fill the pipeline. Get people off the sofas. Get people into vitamin shops and gyms. Getting people to ask the questions and make a change.

    There is no better person to make this move and generate this momentum RIGHT NOW than her… and Bob.

    Who the hell gives a damn these days about Denise-whats-her-name?

  3. Thank you both for your comments. Rob, I totally agree. This is all perfect timing. Bloggers have been going nuts writing about their bitter disappointment in Jillian, how she has failed the masses. It does make good press. I read the profile in Ladies Home Journal and I did not see her soft side. I must have missed it.

    Weekendweighin, I should watch the show. Thank you for posting!

  4. Weekendweighin, I assume Jillian knows that most people are looking for a quick fix. They want something fast and easy. Is there a real secret to weight loss aside from diet and exercise? Popping a pill is easy, watching your portions and going to gym a few times a week may not be. She knows what America wants and is going to give it to them.

    However, I would not be surprised if she does come out with a workout clothing line, “magical” bottled water, etc…

  5. Hi Judie,

    Great post! I think I have a somewhat unique perspective: first, I use to weigh over 300 pounds, second, I’m a huge fan of TBL, third, I’ve met Jillian personally, and forth, I now work in the ‘the biz’.

    When I met Jillian, I found her to be a person who is extremely passionate and authentic in what she does. She was at a small event with Sanjay Gupta for FitNation (CNN Special). She spent at least 10 minutes with each person, hearing their story, inspiring them & in turn being inspired (many of the people there were in ‘the biz’ and there were some people who lost a lot of weight & others who were trying to. She personally signed every book & wrote individual messages to each person, after learning a little about them. I found this to be so authentic & wonderful (especially considering that Rachel Ray left & never shook one hand).

    On the other hand, having been a large person who looked for every shortcut in the world, I totally would have stocked up on this protein drink in the past (or anything someone told me to buy). But now I know & advocate just getting your butt out there and doing the work. I don’t need any protein, vitamins, specialty items. Just a pair of running shoes, a sports bra, my favorite workout outfit, my gym membership & 2 hours/day! My nutrition comes to me through my healthy diet. I have seen my body feel healthier, look healthier & now my bloodwork, etc. proves I am healthier. 5 years ago & 1000 protein drinks later I am sure I would still have 300lbs. The problem is you can’t sell inspiration, you can’t help people to make the connection unless you spend time with them, coach them, and find the inspiration within themselves–you can’t sell this & thus you can’t make money.

    It is a mixed message, don’t fully agree with it (selling unnecessary protein supps), but I can understand it. Hopefully the good of TBL & her new show (where she moves in with a family for a couple weeks) will outweigh the effects of selling the bogus stuff!

  6. Jennifer, thank you for posting on my blog. I love reading your perspective. I agree with you but I also feel that one main ingredient is the actual person. I recently heard someone say “it’s not will power, it’s about want power. How badly do you want this?” A trainer cannot force you to do those pushups (well, ok, maybe aside from Jillian), a nutritionist cannot force you to choose an apple vs chocolate, etc.. A coach/trainer/etc can help you make those choices and educate you but ultimately it is up to the person to make the choice.

    Another issue is that while the supplement/drink/whatever can help take the weight off….will it keep the weight off?

    You are a true inspiration Jennifer!! You go girl!!

  7. Pingback: Jillian Michael’s Hawks Diet Supplements, is This in Line With What She Preaches? | lpnschoolss.info

Leave a Reply

