Like Mother, Like Daughter

My two daughters, 6 1/2 and 4 1/2, have grown up hearing me talk about working out and exercise. They have gone with me to the gym and stayed with child care. They have seen my mala beads and listened to my chanting cds. However, they have never actually worked out with me. That changed today.

My older daughter is resuming her gymnastics class. Unfortunately, we were too late in signing up my younger one and the class was full. I wanted to do something special with her. I realized that one of the yoga studios in my town offered a class called Family Yoga. I took my younger daughter to the class today.

I didn’t know what to expect. I sort of expected crying children running around. That wasn’t the case. Besides the two of us, there was just one other family (of 6 though- one big family)! When I saw my daughter on her own mat, wow. I certainly did not expect to feel emotional. But I did! It was so amazing to see her right next to me. I had the biggest smile on my face.

I kept on looking at her from the corner of my eye as she attempted to do a sun salutation for the first time. It was so sweet! The teacher later approached me to say she had never seen a child her age remain so focused during the class. 

The best part was at the very end of class. No matter what style of yoga you practice, all practices send with savasana aka corpse pose. (OK, I lied. I don’t know if every single style ends with that post but at least the ones that I have practiced throughout the years end with that pose). I pulled my mat close to my daughter’s. And we held hands. 

We intend to go back. With the entire family. I cannot imagine what it will be like for me to see my husband on a mat. I am sure I will once again have tears in my eyes. 

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

