Run, Judie, Run

Wow, it’s been a long time since I last updated my blog.  I apologize. I have been very sick. Right after I returned home from my yoga retreat weekend, I started to feel achy and sore.  I thought if I ignored it, I would feel better. Instead, I progressively got worse each passing day. I finally dragged myself to the doctor and was diagnosed with bronchitis. I never had this before and I hope to never have it again. Weeks later, I am more or less back to normal except I am still coughing! I have not been getting much exercise besides an occasional walk.

However, despite feeling not my best, I decided to attempt to run this morning. I have always admired and envied runners. I have always wanted to experience that “runner’s high”. I have many, many friends and neighbors who run. So, even though I am still coughing up a lung, I decided to just get out there and see what happened.

Actually, I did do a bit of research before putting on my sneakers. I had heard of a program called Couch To 5k.  For the first week, they recommend: Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes. However, another site recommended a bit more running: Week 1: Run 2 min, walk 3 min; repeat 6 times.

I started off with a brisk walk on the way to the park.  I wanted to run around a paved path at a nearby park. Then, I started running. It was a lot harder than I imagined. I have not been able to work out in weeks since I haven’t been well and I really felt it. I felt so out of shape! However, I kept on reminding myself to take it easy.  I am not even sure how long I ran. But, I am feeling good and proud of myself for getting started. 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Run, Judie, Run

  1. Congrats on your run. I ran 5k about two months ago and haven’t since. It wasn’t fun. I’ve meant to get back to it but I have to say I’m just not compelled. Instead I’ve been doing some shorter runs, mostly following this website: http://www.crossfitendurance.com. Check it out and let me know what you think.

  2. Thanks Ben. Today I am headed to the gym to do a Body Pump class, but will be going for a run tomorrow with my yoga teacher. I am very excited!

  3. My biggest tip is to make sure you aren’t taking more than one breath for every two steps, speed can come later.

    Good luck!

  4. Thank you Marianne. I will try to remember that tip! Honestly, as I started running, nearly everything I read flew out of my mind. I decided to focus on my body. I could naturally run for a minute or two before I need to slow down to a walk. I will post tomorrow after I run with Amy!

  5. Pingback: I Did It! « Judiesjuice’s Blog

Leave a Reply

