Why Do You Exercise?

When reading the October 2009 issue of Shape magazine, I came across an interesting factoid.  According to a recent survey co-sponsored by the American Council on Exercise, most women are not exercising to lose weight. In fact, their #1 reason to work out is to stay healthy. Not only that, 80% said that “even if there was a magic pill to keep fit, they’d still exercise because the love the mood boost it gives them.”

I was a bit surprised when I read that. Many of my friends complain about their weight and wanting to lose weight. I suspect that is their main motivation to exercising. As for me, it’s usually a little of both. I (usually) love exercising and feeling fit and strong but, at the same time, I want to be fit and lean.

Shape also features an article on the multiple benefits of exercise. The more days you exercise, the fewer sick days you will experience. The article states “work out for 30 minutes a day and you’ll catch half as many colds this year, according to a study in the American Journal of Medicine.”  You will also sleep better, feel happier and feel less stressed. Sounds good to me!

2 thoughts on “Why Do You Exercise?

  1. That factoid is straight fiction. Every (yes, a broad generalization) woman I’ve talked to works out for aesthetics first and foremost. While staying healthy may be a part of the big picture, it’s not the primary reason. Which would explain why most of the women I know and terrified of the weight scale. But for whatever reason women are working out, at least they’re working out. Kudos to those who work up a sweat.

  2. Ben, thank you for posting on my blog! Yes, as I mentioned, I do believe that a woman’s weight may be the primary reason to exercise. Perhaps that may be their main motivation but after experiencing other benefits, they tend to stick with it for the long term.

Leave a Reply

