What A Long, Strange Trip….

The past couple of days have been very magical. On Thursday, I received my Reiki Level 1 attunement. I shared the day with my amazing teacher, Amy, who led the class. Five other women participated. What exactly is Reiki? “The word Reiki is made of two Japanese words – Rei which means “God’s Wisdom or the Higher Power” and Ki which is “life force energy”. So Reiki is actually “spiritually guided life force energy.”

I find it hard to explain in my own words what it is or how it feels. When I receive Reiki treatments from Amy, I tend to have visions. Most recently I have felt as if I were flying or that an Angel is behind me or that I am the one with these huge wings. 

I will admit I had pretty high expectations of this attunement. I thought something huge and different would happen. I expected the world to look different, colors will appear brighter or more vivid. Out of the group, I was the only one who immediately experienced a warmth in my hands after I gave Reiki to myself. Later that evening, I gave everyone in my family (my husband and two daughters) Reiki. They all said my hands felt very warm but when they touched my hands, they were not warm! My youngest said “I’m falling asleep Mommy.” The amount of joy and love that surged through my body as I gave them Reiki was enormous.

I have been giving myself Reiki 24/7. I do feel calmer and more relaxed but it certainly doesn’t feel the same when Amy does it. During the class, she mentioned that giving yourself Reiki is like massaging your feet. It feels much better when someone else does it!

I am very excited to continue my Reiki journey. I will be seeing Amy next week for another treatment. She will also be offering further classes and attunements.

Last night, I attended a Healing Meditation done with Tibetan Singing Bowls done by Suren Shrestha. It was a very blissful experience. I felt so lucky to be one of the few participants who had a singing bowl placed on their heart chakra. It felt wonderful!

Has my life changed? Not really. But I have a feeling it will….

4 thoughts on “What A Long, Strange Trip….

  1. Hi! In my experience, your reiki will get stronger as you practice more and get more attunements. I didn’t feel anything at all after my Level I, or even my level II. I got my Master attunement over the summer and others are feeling it more strongly, and I feel it more strongly on myself. It won’t change your life overnight (nor is it supposed to), it’s one step along your journey. Good luck!

  2. Thank you so much for your post. I really appreciate it. I am seeing my Reiki Master on Thursday for another session and another Level 1 attunement. I’m pretty sure I feel something already….

    Please come back and post more often. Thanks again! Judie

  3. Pingback: What Do You Believe? « Judiesjuice’s Blog

  4. Pingback: Back To Basics « Judiesjuice’s Blog

Leave a Reply

