Fell Off The Wagon Again

On Monday, I finally got to the gym after a long hiatus.  I took a kickboxing class which literally kicked my butt.  I was in pain for days but, nevertheless, I went back for more. On Wednesday, I took a Body Pump class. I have not worked out with weights in forever and it felt amazing. I was shocked to see muscles that I thought for sure had converted to mush. On Thursday, I used the treadmill for 45 minutes and then used one of those machines that target your hips. So far, so good, right?

I had thought it was going to be hard for me to go back to the gym since it had been a while. But, as you can see, it didn’t take me very long at all to revert to my old habits. I felt great. I have been much calmer and patient with my daughters, I have been feeling better about myself and just felt pretty damn good. Go me!

On Friday, I intended to go back. However, a work project came up, I felt stressed and ended up skipping the gym. “It’s ok,’ I told myself. “You can take the Ashtanga Yoga class on Saturday morning. No worries.” 

However, I did not sleep well last night. And I opted to go back to bed after my husband woke up instead of going to the gym. I’m pretty mad at myself. Tomorrow will be another no-gym day since we have plans to go to the beach. Oh well.

The gym will still be there on Monday. My butt will be waiting.

Leave a Reply

